[image]-Infinix-Note-2-unboxing-Featured

Infinix Note 2 Review: Everything you need to know

December 14, 2015
Comments off
8,606 Views
0 88 100 1
88.4%
Average Rating

Infinix Note 2

Ksh. 12,499

  • Design
    93%
  • Display
    86%
  • Perfomance
    93%
  • Camera
    79%
  • Battery
    91%
smartphone-deals

The Infinix Note 2 is the latest smartphone from Infinix Mobility and most definitely one of the finest budget smartphones you can buy right now.

The Infinix Note 2 is an upgrade of the hot selling Infinix Hot Note and features some pretty dope technical specifications that rival smartphones struggle to beat.

I did an unboxing article of the Note 2 just a couple of days ago and I would strongly recommend that you check that out in order to get an impression of what you should expect.

I have spent close to a week with the Infinix Note 2 and during that period I played around with the different features of the smartphone, and here is everything you need to know about the Infinix Note 2.

Package

[image]-Infinix-Note-2-unboxed

Display

Display Size: 5.98-inches

Display Type: IPS LCD

Screen Resolution: 720 x 1280 pixels

Screen Resolution Density: 245 ppi

Screen Protection: None

One of the highlights of the Infinix Note 2 is undoubtedly its massive 5.98-inch 720p IPS LCD display. The display is massive and it’s probably the first thing you will notice about the Infinix Note 2.

[image] _Infinix Note 2 Display

Just looking at the display you can’t help but wonder how Infinix is able to offer such massive display at Ksh. 12,499.

I mean the two Android smartphones that can match up that humongous size are the Samsung Galaxy Note 5 (5.7 inches) and Huawei Mate 8 (6.0 inches), both of which are high end premium smartphones that cost close to 6 times what you pay for the Inifinix Note 2.

[image] Infinix Note 2 Design

On the nitty-gritty of the display, Infinix stuck with a 720p resolution, which is kinda the best Infinix offers right now. That leads to a rather low screen resolution density leading to some visible pixilation when you bring the smartphone close to your eyeballs or when playing HD videos.

[image]-Infinix-Note-2-unboxing-Featured

However, the display is bright, very bright. It can in fact, Illume an entire room at night if you have the brightness level near its maximum. However, the Infinix Note 2 display really struggles while under direct sunlight and but its viewing angles are neat.

What is noteworthy about the display is its crispness. Reading text, especially e-books is a great pleasure and couple this with large display and the Infinix Note 2 is a perfect companion for an avid e-book reader.

Related: Facts about Smartphone Displays

Design

Dimensions: 159.5 x 82.5 x 9.3 mm

Weight: 194 g

The Infinix Note 2 (especially the gray one) has a distant resemblance to the Samsung Galaxy Note 2. It will be tough for an average not-interested-in-smartphone person to tell the former from the latter especially if Infinix had decided on rounded corners.

Infinix Note 2 Design

The Infinix Note 2 is gorgeous to look at and feel and people around you will stare. It felt amazing in my hands and just like its predecessor the hot note, the Note 2 has that elusive premium appeal that often is absent on budget smartphones.

The Infinix Note 2 features a removable cover that gives you access to two Micro-SIM slots as well as a MicroSD slot. A 13 MP camera lies on the top center section of the Infinix Note 2 right next to the LED flash. The earphone plug is at the bottom while the charging port and microphone are located at the bottom of the device.

[image] Infinix Note 2 unboxing

Performance

Operating System: Android OS, v5.1 (Lollipop)

CPU: 1.3 GHz Octa-core 64-bit

RAM: 1/2 GB

Internal Memory: 16 GB

Micro SD: Yes, up to 32 GB

The performance of the Infinix Note 2 is awesome. Stutters are non-existent and the different components hum in perfect harmony. This is frightening considering I have the 1 GB variant and thus it’s very exciting to predict the performance of the 2 GB variant.

Also, this baby has a 64-bit CPU and this means that Android 5.1 runs at its optimum. The Infinix Note 2 user interface is heavily customized and you get the Infinix proprietary user interface dubbed (XUI) laid on top of the OS.

With XUI you can download a number of ready-made themes to match your preference. There is in fact an ‘Apple’ theme that tries very hard to clone iOS and the theme makes the Infinix Note 2 feel a bit a like the iPhone 6+. There is also one inspired by Jazz, which I think is cool.

Infinix Note 2 Software

Apart from that, you get 16 GB for your files, about 10 GB usable and a Micro-Slot.

Related: Facts about Smartphone CPUs

Camera

Rear Camera: 13 MP

Secondary Camera: 2 MP

LED Flash: Yes

The Infinix Note 2 camera doesn’t disappoint. However, the devil is in the details. The Infinix Note 2 cameras (both the selfie and primary) need lots of light in order to function flawlessly. Under just the right amount you get a really smooth camera experience.

Below are some of the camera samples.

[image] Infinix Note 2 Camera

[image] Infinix Note 2 Camera

Battery and Extras

Battery Capacity: Li-Ion 4040mAh

The Infinix Note 2 Li-Ion 4040mAh battery goes, goes and keeps going. I had earlier on had my suspicions that the battery would struggle to power the 6.0 inch display, but it turns out that capacity is adequate.

Infinix doesn’t lie, the smartphone can go for 48 hours on a single charge under normal usage.

Extras

Why you should buy the Infinix Note 2

There are a handful of reasons why you should buy the Infinix Note 2. The first and the most prominent is the 5.98-inch display, currently there isn’t a smartphone priced under Ksh. 15,000 that offers that.

The second is the performance. The Infinix Note 2 has an amazing performance profile that is close to what you get with high end smartphones. Its fantastic design, great camera and its super-impressive battery performance makes it really difficult for you to hate the smartphone.

Cons of the Infinix Note 2

Did you read my unboxing article? , if you didn’t, you are missing out. You should know that the Infinix Note 2 does not come with earphones. I know that is not an entirely deal breaker, but having been accustomed to a complete package it is kinda annoying to shop around for earphones after you have purchased the smartphone.

Also, another bit is on the internet connectivity. The Infinix Note 2 default browser takes a while to connect to the internet and I wonder if that is a tip of an iceberg of a problem.

Verdict

The Infinix Note 2 is an amazing smartphone, and possibly the best Infinix currently has to offer. I really like where Infinix is heading to. It is simply unfair that people have to spend a fortune being overpriced tech that offer little value apart from brand prestige.

The Infinix Note 2 having launched at the start of the festive season makes it the perfect gift for someone you know who deserves a decent smartphone, especially if that someone is you.

Rivals

Rivals of the Infinix Note 2 include the Wiko Slide 2 (Ksh. 9,999) and Microsoft Lumia 640 XL (Ksh. 15,999).

Price in Kenya

The Infinix Note 2 has a suggested retail price of Ksh. 12,499 (1GB/3G) / Ksh. 13,999 (2GB/4G) and is available for purchase from Jumia Kenya.

0 88 100 1

88.4%
Average Rating

Infinix Note 2

Ksh. 12,499

  • Design
    93%
  • Display
    86%
  • Perfomance
    93%
  • Camera
    79%
  • Battery
    91%

[Image] Jumia ButtonBe awesome and rate the Infinix Note 2.

Next: 14 Days with the Infinix Note 2; What I like about the Smartphone

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rate
Rating: 3.6/5 (23 votes cast)
Infinix Note 2 Review: Everything you need to know, 3.6 out of 5 based on 23 ratings
Infinix Smart

Kevin is a Passionate Technology Enthusiast and the Lead Writer at MobiTrends. He has been writing about Smartphones and Mobile Technology since 2012. Drop him your comments below :)

83 Comments

  1. Henry Miz

    where can get the infinix note 2

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Hi Henry, It’s available online on Jumia Kenya, http://bit.ly/Infnote2

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  2. Anita Kinanu

    how much am interested

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      It’s Ksh. 12,499

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Anita Kinanu

      how can i get it

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  3. Fhina Mwikali

    hae i ordered this phone since last week whats happening

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Hi Fina, You should follow up the issue with Jumia customer support

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  4. Fhina Mwikali

    they are not picking calls

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Ryan A Bryannes

      Me too just given up, I’ll just look for another phone

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  5. Mwanyule Philip

    can i get infinix wth 8 k?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  6. Lokai Jay Bush

    i think jumia are out there to make money..i ordered one last week,mailed them,phoned no answer just getting automatically generated messages,i think they should just hire customer care agents or they come back from Christmas holidays coz iam really pissed at them

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Hi Lokai, That’s awful to hear. I do hope Jumia will fix the issue.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Jimmy Ngangalito Young

      its not n isolated case..i hve exprienced it too n despite making the order no delivery has been made…hire more customercare n respond to ur customers..#pissedoff

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Steven Kimani

      I ordered one on 23rd and it was available for pickup on 30th. It took longer than normal, I guess it was the holiday mood.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Willy Che

      They don’t answer my calls to

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  7. Ken Arap John

    proud owner of one

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Hi Ken Arap John Glad to hear that! What is according to you the best thing about the Note 2?

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Ken Arap John

      intetnet…charging size sound quality,wtf cameras? super…i love it no hanging its a super smartphone anyway

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      So I guess pretty much everything about the Infinix Note 2 is awesome :)..Thanks for the feedback.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Ken Arap John

      everything is super good…..i’m just looking for its flip cover and screen guard which is not in most shops in Eldoret

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Yeah, the Note 2 is a new smartphone so it will take some time for the accessories to pop up. But I do hope they will become available starting Jan 2016

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Ken Arap John

      hope so too

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  8. Protus Juma

    Am okey with x510 can u rate me

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      4/5, i am also okay with the X510 —> http://mobitrends.co.ke/infinix-hot-2-x510-review-kenya/

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Lagat Kym

      Useless phone.. Am selling mine at 5k

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Protus Juma

      Wonderful 4n na iko na wachache bro!!

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Tyson Mwendwa Munaa

      Cool…im having it too

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Tyson Mwendwa Munaa

      Cool…im having it too

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  9. Ayub Leval

    it can charge for 15min is that fixed or you can twist it to charge normally

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Hi Ayub Leval Fast Charging is an in built feature. I am not sure you can manually adjust the charging time.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  10. Jackie Jackline

    Is it available at safaricom shops pliz

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Hi Jackie Jackline I am not sure about that. You should check

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  11. Jackie Jackline

    Ok thanks

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  12. Sonnie Githiomi

    Jake Hudson

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  13. Kenah Josiah Jr.

    how much is that note 2

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  14. Kenah Josiah Jr.

    how much is that note 2

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      It’s Ksh. 12,499

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  15. Bandari Boy Deaf

    How much infinix hot not?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Hi Bandari, The Hot Note costs ksh 11,499

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  16. Whitney Val Njeri

    hey i hav this phone fr 2 wks nw its wooow bt i gt it at 14k .wachana na hawa watu wa jumia .my qn is charge ya hii phone iliimbiwa kwetu job nacharge na ya tecno iko shinda ? n also naweza pata glass protector wapi ?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Steven Kimani

      At 14k I guess it was not from Jumia. For charger it’s important to get its own charger that matches the specs to avoid destroying your phone, call carlcare to confirm if they have it Carlcare: 0717 446052.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Whitney Val Njeri

      thanks a lot .BTW ata c charge yote iliimbiwa ni ile kitu ya kuweka kwa socket .I HV the USB cable yake .

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Whitney Val Njeri

      I didn’t gt yangu jumia .nilibuy kwa shop

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Steven Kimani

      That part of the charger is the one you need, USB cables are almost the same.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Whitney Val Njeri

      jez ! OK

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Jay Jay Adagala

      whitney which shop did u get it?I need to buy one as soon as sunday

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Hi Whitney, Steven is right, you need a charger that is compatible with the Note 2. The Note 2 has a very large battery capacity so it takes quite a while for it to charge up. A incompatible charger might not necessarily damage your smartphone in the short run, but it will take it a lot longer to charge your smartphone.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Whitney Val Njeri

      hahaha jay jay ntakushow jioni nikicheck kwa card .I didn’t read jina ya shop

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Whitney Val Njeri

      mobi trends wea will I get that thing .plus when I was charging my phone with that charge it used to show sijui flash charging what’s that n nw it doesn’t show that nikitumia hii Niko nayo

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Hi Whitney, Yeah hio fast charging works when using its original charger. I’d advise that you contact Infinix wakueleze place utapata an original replacement charger.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Whitney Val Njeri

      poa

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Jay Jay Adagala

      okay whitney,, tell me e direction, al find it..need to buy it tomorrow

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Whitney Val Njeri

      jay jay ndio hio sasa u can kol or visit them

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Willy Che

      Hio glass protector unaweza pata hizo shops ziko opposite otc

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Whitney Val Njeri

      poa my dea .thanks

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  17. James Mbugua

    I need one very urgently

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Steven Kimani

      Hi, do you know how to make the order?

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • James Mbugua

      Ok,give me the right procedure to order

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  18. Faith Njoroge

    i need a phn that can take good photos @ nyt…is this any better..the infinix note day photos are awesome.nyt photos very bad

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Hi Faith, The Note 2 takes some really impressive pictures at night. Its LED Flash is quite powerful.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • James

      buy the tecno C5. its rear camera has double LED flashes.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  19. Princezz Àñísà

    Do you guys have infinix zero 2?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  20. Meg Shish

    It doesnt hav a front flash for taking photos at night

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Yeah, Sadly, it doesn’t..

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Meg Shish

      I wish i knew

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Zalista Wince

      Hehehe

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  21. Lokai Jay Bush

    help me with their direct line i talk to the guy manning them i just tell him how poor of a manager he is

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  22. Eng Methu Muhindi

    How much is the 2gb ram variant

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Hi Eng Methu, The 2GB RAM variant is yet to launch in Kenya.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  23. Cindy Krisy

    Available in what colours

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  24. Eng Methu Muhindi

    It has a notification led right?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  25. Eng Methu Muhindi

    It has a notification led right?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Yeah, it has LED Notification

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  26. Enock Onguso

    I have 5000 pongapoints how much will i add

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mobi Trends

      Hey Enock, Unfortunately, this is not a bonga point offer.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  27. Enock Onguso

    thanks

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  28. Nusaiba Ashraf Esmail

    hw much

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  29. Jackie Jackline

    How much is note two and x551 and where can i buy on shop not online

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  30. Lagat Kym

    It’s doesn’t charge at 15 mints almost one hour I have one… Lies

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  31. Stanley Wafula

    How do I take a selfish using Infinix x510???

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  32. Hon Mule Ozil

    Infinixer

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)