[image] Infinix Zero 3 Review 8

Infinix Zero 3 Review : Everything you need to know

January 18, 2016
7,391 Views
0 85 100 1
85.6%
Average Rating

Infinix Zero 3

Price : Ksh. 18,499

  • Display
    82%
  • Design
    84%
  • Performance
    92%
  • Camera
    94%
  • Battery
    76%

It’s here, the Infinix Zero 3 finally available in Kenya.

The Infinix Zero 3 packs a number of impressive technical specifications, some that rival those of the best Android flagship smartphones on the market.

That said, here is what the Infinix Zero 3 has to offer.

What’s in the box?

[image] Infinx Zero 3 Review 1

Inside the Infinix Zero 3 package you will find;

  • Infinix Zero3 (smartphone)
  • AC Charger
  • 2-Pin AC Adapter
  • 3-Pin AC Adapter
  • USB Cable
  • Transparent Silicone Gel Cover
  • SIM Card Eject Pin
  • User Guide

Related: Infinix Zero 3 Unboxing

Infinix Zero 3 Technical Specifications

Camera

[image] Infinx Zero 3 Review 4

Rear Camera: 20.7 MP (6144 x 3456 Pixels)

Secondary Camera: 5.0 MP (3072 x 1728 Pixels)

LED Flash: Yes (Dual-True Tone)

Front LED Flash: Yes

The camera is the standout feature of the Infinix Zero 3 and the prime reason why Infinix Mobility wants you to purchase the smartphone.

Infinix did a flawless job with the camera in terms of hardware as well as its software. You get a 20.7 MP rear camera for general photography and a 5.0 MP snapper for your seflies.

The Infinix Zero 3 rear camera performance is striking and is able to capture almost DSLR-like quality images regardless of your photography skills. Check out some of the best shots captured by the rear camera.

[image] Infinx Zero 3 Review Camera 1

[image] Infinx Zero 3 Review Camera

[image] Infinx Zero 3 Review Camera 2

The front facing camera is impressive with its highlight being the front-facing flash that lies beside it. The inclusion of a front-facing flash is an awesome move by Infinix since the feature is yet to become a standard, and it is in fact missing on high-end Android flagship smartphones such as the Samsung Note 5.

It is noteworthy to mention that the Infinix Zero 3 selfie flash works in a rather interesting way. Instead of lighting the scene when you are about to capture an image, the flash continuously lights up and only goes off after you switch to the rear camera or close the camera App.

The secret behind the stellar Infinx Zero 3 camera performance is that the camera packs a Sony Exmor RS™ IMX230 sensor, which is currently one of the best smartphone camera sensors on the market.

The sensor has an impressive shutter speed that allows you to capture objects in motion in perfect clarity.

The Sony Exmor RS™ IMX230 sensor also powers the smartphones 4K recording features. The 4K as well as the 1080p Full HD videos captured by the Zero 3 were simply exhilarating.

There is a lot I can say about the Infinix Zero 3 camera, in fact, I need to do a separate post on it. I totally vouch for it, the camera is excellent.

Read Also: Infinix Zero 3 Camera Review

Display

[image] Infinix Zero 3 Review 8

Display Size: 5.5-inch

Display Type: IPS LCD

Screen Resolution: 1080 x 1920 Pixels

Screen Resolution Density: 400 ppi

Screen Protection: Corning Gorilla Glass 3

You get a 5.5-inch IPS LCD Full HD display with the Infinix Zero 3. The Zero 3 display is excellent and its clarity will make you blush.

[image] Infinx Zero 3 Display

However, the display is quite ‘pale’ and lacks the vibrancy that was present on the Infinix Zero 2. The choice by Infinix to go for an IPS LCD display instead of an Amoled display is possibly the reason behind this.

Other than that, in-door visibility is superb while outdoor visibility is impressive. The Infinix Zero 3 display performs well even under direct sunlight.

Another important bit is the Corning Gorilla Glass 3 protection layer that coats the display. The inclusion of a protective layer on the display is also noteworthy considering that the feature is often missing on budget smartphones.

Design

Dimensions: 154×76.7×7.85 mm

Weight: 120 g

[image] Infinix Zero 3 Review 3

The other standout feature of the Infinix Zero 3 is obviously its design. The Zero 3 features an exquisite design that gives the smartphone a premium appeal despite its budget price tag.

[image] Infinx Zero 3 Review 8

You get a smooth blend of glass and metal and a solid unibody candy bar design. The smartphone comes with a non-removable cover and consequently, the battery is non-removable. The Infinix Zero 3 lacks any physical keys on the display and instead you get capacitive keys.

[image] Infinx Zero 3 Review 2

The 3.5 mm Audio port lies on top of the device while the charging port lies at the bottom, just next to the microphone. The volume rocker and power button are placed on the left side of the smartphone.

[image] Infinx Zero 3 Review 6

The Micro-SD slot is on the right while the SIM card slot is on the left. Infinix includes an ejector pin to pull out the slots. The Infinix Zero 3 user guide interestingly lacks a manual on how to pull out the SIM card and MicroSD slots.

Therefore, in the case you get stuck, all you need to do is to insert the pin into the hole, gently press it in and the slot will slide out.

Performance

Operating System: Android 5.1 Lollipop

CPU: MT6795 Octa-Core 2.0 GHz 64bit

RAM: 3 GB

Internal Memory: 16 GB

Micro SD: Yes, up to 128GB

The performance profile of the Infinix Zero 3 is another highlighted feature of the smartphone. You get a powerful Octa-Core 2.0 GHz 64bit CPU and 3GB RAM. The combination breeds magic and makes the Zero 3 one of the powerful mid-range smartphones available on the market.

[image] Infinix Zero 3 Review 3

A MediaTek Helio X10 SoC powers the Infinix zero 3 and the chip is no joke.

[image] Infinix Zero 3 CPU

The Helio X10 SoC is currently the best chipset MediaTek has to offer and the chipset does a wonderful job powering everything from 4K video recording/playback to 4G LTE connectivity.

Check out the Geek Bench Stats Sheet.

Multitasking on the Zero 3 is flawless owing to the generous 3G RAM and there is no presence whatsoever of performance stutters.

On 4G connectivity, here is the speed i was able to achieve. (4G Right, 3G Left)

[image] Infinix Zero 3 4G Internet

Battery

Battery Capacity: Li-ion 3030 mAh

The Infinix Zero 3 boasts of a Li-ion 3030 mAh battery. The battery looks good on paper, but kind of disappoints in real life.

There is a bit of a battery drain, especially when you have 4G LTE and it is a challenge to squeeze 24 hours out of the smartphone especially if you are a heavy smartphone user. In my case the battery was normally less than 10% at the end of the day.

However, the Infinix Zero 3 has a range of decent power management features. One is the Ultra-power saving mode that ensures that you squeeze out the maximum out of the battery, for instance, I was able to get close to five hours on just 1%, on standby, true story buddy.

Extras

Dual SIM

4G LTE

Verdict

The Infinix Zero 3 is the best Infinix Mobility smartphone I have used so far.

Just a few years ago, you had to pay a premium to have flagship-grade features on your smartphone. Well, that was in the past.

Infinix Mobility is Africa’s Xiaomi and the Zero 3 is evidence enough that you really don’t have to pay much for a decent premium smartphone experience.

Why you should buy the Infinix Zero 3

Excellent Camera Profile

4G LTE connectivity

Amazing Design

Impressive Display Profile

Cons of the Infinix Zero 3

Unimpressive battery Life

Rivals

Rivals of the Infinix Zero 3 includes the Tecno Phantom 5 (Ksh. 34,999) and the Samsung Galaxy A5 (Ksh. 25,599).

Next: Tecno Phantom 5 vs. Infinix Zero 

Price in Kenya

The Infinix Zero 3 has a suggested retail price of Ksh. 18,499 in Kenya.

0 85 100 1

85.6%
Average Rating

Infinix Zero 3

Price : Ksh. 18,499

  • Display
    82%
  • Design
    84%
  • Performance
    92%
  • Camera
    94%
  • Battery
    76%

[Image] Jumia Button

Be awesome and rate the Infinix Zero 3.

Next: Infinix Zero 3 Camera Review

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rate
Rating: 4.3/5 (11 votes cast)
Infinix Zero 3 Review : Everything you need to know, 4.3 out of 5 based on 11 ratings

Kevin is a Passionate Technology Enthusiast and the Lead Writer at MobiTrends. He has been writing about Smartphones and Mobile Technology since 2012. Drop him your comments below :)

  • Bill Inc

    Acording to your experience,how many hours does the phone last under heavy usage:when online throughout,without tweaking the battery savers…And the battery capacity is 3030 mah…check on that 😉

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Bill,

      Thanks for the point of correction.

      Under very heavy usage, you can get at most about nine hours.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      • Udegbunam Chukwudi

        9hrs?! Please do you mean 9hrs screen on time or 9hrs for the battery to drop from 100% to 10%?

        I’d like to know how many hours of screen on time you get and if you tweak the brightness level to achieve that or not. Thanks

        Awesome review by the way ?

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
        • Hi Udegbunam,

          Under heavy usage, about 9 hrs for the battery to drop from 100% to 10%. 9 hours of screen on time is extreme.

          Still on the screen on time, i can’t really give an exact estimate i need to test that. But if you have a low brightness level, it’s obvious that you will get an impressive screen on time.

          I will update this comment.

          Many Thanks for the compliment, I appreciate it.

          VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
          Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
          • Udegbunam Chukwudi

            ?? @ 9 hours of screen on time is extreme. True that.

            Thanks for the feedback. Looking forward to getting one this Friday.

            I hope they include a screen protector in the package as I’m one of those people who doesn’t trust/believe in Gorilla Glass tech. Lol

            VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
            Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
          • I am for Corning Gorilla Glass.

            However, if you they include a decent screen protector especially a tempered glass one, that will be awesome.

            All the best!

            VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
            Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • mahmoud nabil

    Hi kevin, i’m from egypt and i asking about front facing camera.. if it has a wide angle like 85degree’s zero 2 …?

    thanks..:)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Mahmoud,

      Greetings from Kenya!

      Yeah, the Infinix Zero 3 front-facing camera has a wide angle (just like the one on the Zero 2). The selfies captured are pretty awesome.

      Thanks :-)

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      • mahmoud nabil

        Thanks a lot..you made my day actually..
        your review is the the best i have ever read about zero 3..
        waiting for full camera review

        keep going, i hope all success for you in future..:)

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Dennis Angelo

    Nice review, you are the only reviewer so far who knows what the people want know about the infnix zero 3, i.e how good the camera is. so far your sample look amazing, hope you get to make a separate camera review for it for those seriously considering the phone. thanks

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Angelo,

      Many Thanks for the feedback and compliment.

      Yes, i am working on a Camera Review, it should be online soon.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • MT! Do you this phone in your stock, how much and where are You located in Nairobi ??

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Peter, The Phone is listed online on Jumia Kenya. However, it is currently out of stock.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • i hav it

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • if its out of stock y advertise it

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Albert,

      You make a good point. However, this is not an advert, it is a review to inform you what the Zero 3 has to offer.

      Also, the Zero 3 will not be permanently out of stock..it could become available in the next couple of days

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • how much is infinix x551.ineed it

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Ace Jewel

      Good review… Would you buy this phone, yourself?

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • yes iwill

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Ace Jewel, I would definitely buy it.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    • Ace Jewel

      Good, i will also get it then

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Huyu Albert anauliza maswali as if he stays in another planet, Mobi trends is a technology-based blog that does reviews of various smart device’s and anything related to technology.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • do you havr infinix x600

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • sam kimani

    awesome review.
    are there no earphones in the box??

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • It should not be less than 20000

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Why do you think it should be worth more than that? Because frankly, it should be cheaper than that-not to mean that it’s not good but consider technology grows and a phone worth 20k five years ago cannot fetch even half that price now

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Remember infinix zero 2 goes for 18900 and its specifications can’t be compared with zero 3

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • How much is it now?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Charles Onyango, it costs Ksh. 18,499

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • I have the phone and its perfect.About the battery, even a galaxy s6 cant get you through a day with intensive use.About overheating, octa cores and intensified usage will heat up just about any phone.In any case,with the specs available on the phone, for that price, nobody has the right to complain.Alternatively, buy an S6 edge for 80k.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Wow, this is so far the best feedback i have received. I do agree with you, the Infinix Zero 3 wins hands down when it comes to value for money. Many Thanks for the feedback Peter Murage

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • But i heard the battery doesn’t last a day…. by the way is it really 4G and how about its music system, is the audio clear and loud enough

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Yeah, it is 4G, that i can confirm. On the battery, it can last a day on average use. The Audio is decent, but it’s too bad that the Zero 3 doesn’t come with earphones. But overall, it’s an awesome smartphone.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • It doesn’t matter if the battery last a day or not, the fact is this phone has the best charging system I have ever seen. The phone charges to 80% in a period of around just 30 mins. So if you run out of battery juice you only need 10 mins of charge and you are good to go

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Thez this new on market plz contact 0727506775 for any enquiries.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Nelly Mchoraji Gifted couldn’t agree more. It’s an amazing gadget. Quick charge it’s unbelievable. Though at first I was disappointed with the power drain having been used to x551. Can’t complain though…

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Am only worried about it’s battery, i heard that it doesn’t last a day and that u should carry a power bank incase it’s goes off while in town.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Lemmie correct you on the front facing camera flash. If you touch the flash icon it will change to “flash on” which will mean that the flash will only flash when taking the photo , if you continue to touch it it will change to “flash off” which will mean you take the selfie without the flash and the last one is the “flash throughout” which will mean the front flash will be on throughout until you kill the app or change to rear camera. Check again

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • You are impressed with it?

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Yes

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Nelly, That’s a really great point of correction. I totally missed that. Thanks for the feedback.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Nelly, That’s a really great point of correction. I totally missed that. Thanks for the feedback.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • hi nelly how is the phone especially the battery

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • The phone is awesome

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • For orders of all infinix plz contact 0727506775

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Thanks for infor

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • How can I get one

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • For orders of all infinix plz contact 0727506775

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Its on jumia now @18499

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Anonymous

    Mobi Trends: i finally got it..and it’s dope.No need of going for the high end iPhones and Samsungs.This Infinix does it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • where did you buy it

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Ace Jewel

      Jumia

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • That’s great to hear. Enjoy your purchase

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Ace Jewel

      Mobi Trends ?

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Pwani Rider

    Infinix Zero 3 what about its GPS capability

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • renson nzioka

    Does the phone support 4G?and does it have a HDMI slot ?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • how much?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • hi,can i get infinix of price nt more than 10k?if xo wats itz quality?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Yes kunayo ya 7k n pia iko on top sanaa .for all orders on Julia contact 0727506775

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Great than phantom 5 in specs

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Please do a conclusive comparison. Don’t just say things out of the blues

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Deno, I think Edwin might be right. Check out this comparison review i did a while a back http://mobitrends.co.ke/tecno-phantom-5-vs-infinix-zero-3/. What do you think?

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Mmm from the comparison, it’s suffice to say infinix will carry the day at less the price

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Dennis Denver I did the comparison before coming up with such Idea, what’s unique on tecno phantom 5 is the figure print scanner otherwise infinix can n will definitely carry the day. But to my surprise they come from same company I read somewhere, they are just different in brand names that’s infinix and tecno, mobi trends clarify since we use same carlcare

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • I admire everything about te Infinix zero 3…… but nothing beats te burning desire i posses to own again the ‘Sony Ericsson K800i’!! (This phone’s camera en battery longertifty is the *eeeish*) Kindly notify me if in stores!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Anonymous

    One major problem with this phone is the battery: it can’t take you throughout the day on a single charge. I think it’s due to the high performance processor, the 400 picture elements and the 3GB RAM.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • I have issues with Zero 3photos. I take photos or recieve photos on whatsapp and after sone time on accessing gallery they are corrupted and cannot be seen. Error message: cannot generate thumbnail. I am just disappointed!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • do you have a memory card inserted? If you do, then it is the problem not the phone.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Okay. So do i buy another memory card?

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • The best affordable phone on earth…..love the phone. #BeautyOfInfinixZero3

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • For orders of all infinix plz contact 0727506775

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Please expand the internal memory to 32Gb

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Seems you have no idea who does that. Contact infinix development team instead. They will for sure help

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Though it’s an awesome gadget…. Bravoooo

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • I need one.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • No,I need two..my wife n I

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Hkuna jumia bna natka kubuy

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Who has any idea where pictures saved from facebook to “this device” actually end up? Av searched through the gallery but can’t find them. Anybody….?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Does its upgrade software do much to improve bat life?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Haiko jumia bna

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • what about HTC Attila m9 how much

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • http://shareduty.com/?id=471

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • # Am urgently looking for serious individuals located in NAIROBI and its environs to work with me on full time or part time basis and earn an income ranging from Ksh 7,000-15,000 weekly. I will offer training to the interested individuals to get them started . If interested send your name and location to>><0704958733<<<via call or text or whatsapp

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)